Slide 1


Giving Your Zakat to HHUGS


"Charity (zakah) is to be collected from the rich (members of a community) and distributed amongst its poor."(Al-Bukhari and Muslim)

At HHUGS we understand that giving your zakat is very important to you and so we work with great care to ensure it reaches the right families.

Your zakat donations enable us to support our families and alleviate their difficulties in many ways.

We are currently only taking zakat donations for those families which are eligible for it:

·         The Poor

·         The Needy

·         Beneficiaries with debt that they have no means of paying

 (For further details on all eight zakat eligible categories please see further below).

The scholars of the four madhahib are in agreement that the most deserving recipients of zakat are those in your own country.

HHUGS currently distributes almost £5000 every month to eligible families in the UK.

If you have not yet donated your zakat then consider giving it to HHUGS, for those in need, right here in the UK.

You can pay your zakat in one payment or in monthly instalments via a standing order with us. Simply calculate your zakat and divide it by twelve to work out the amount you should pay each month and get in touch (0207 733 2104).

Get in touch with HHUGS and please remember to specify that you are giving zakat:

•          Telephone: 0207 733 2104

•          “Just Giving”:

•          HHUGS donation form: Under “Specific Campaign” specify that it is zakat


What is Zakat?

Zakat is the third pillar of Islam and is an essential act of worship and is carried out to please Allah. Its importance and rewards are highlighted several times in the Quran such as:

And perform As-Salat (Iqamat-as-Salat), and give Zakat, and whatever of good (deeds that Allah loves) you send forth for yourselves before you, you shall find it with Allah. Certainly, Allah is All-Seer of what you do.” (2:110)

And let not those who [greedily] withhold what Allah has given them of His bounty ever think that it is better for them. Rather, it is worse for them. Their necks will be encircled by what they withheld on the Day of Resurrection. And to Allah belongs the heritage of the heavens and the earth. And Allah, with what you do, is [fully] Acquainted.” (3:180)

Therefore Allah has commanded that a share of wealth be distributed annually amongst the groups of individuals who are entitled to receive it. We give a portion of our wealth out of duty to our Lord and because we are always working towards loving obedience to Him.

The word “zakat” itself literally means growth, purification and blessing which has many positives outcomes as follow.

Benefits & Virtues:

·         It purifies our wealth and our hearts from greed and misery

·         It shows we acknowledge that wealth belongs to Allah and that other Muslims  have a right upon it

·         It is a good deed that by its obligatory nature draws us closer to Allah

·         It protects the poor and needy from hunger, provides them with the basic necessities and improves their economic circumstances

·         We take an active part in contributing towards society


Who must give Zakat and how much?

The Zakat is a personal duty (Fardh 'Ayn) on every Muslim who possesses the minimum amount (Nisab) in excess of his debts for the duration of a year.

Zakat is payable on certain items of wealth and must be in your full possession. The rate that is paid is 2.5% equal to or above the threshold (nisab).


This is the monetary value of 87.5g gold or 625g of pure silver and is the threshold for paying zakat.

The majority opinion of Islamic scholars is that one should pay zakat according to the rate of silver, which is the lower rate as this would increase the number of those who can pay it. However, some scholars prefer the view that one should pay zakat according to the rate of gold. It is highly recommended that you speak with a trusted scholar who can give you further advice in case of uncertainty.

Zakat on agricultural land, livestock or any produce from a mine: The nisab for this is different and should be worked out with a scholar.

(The next main section tells you which types of wealth that zakat must be paid on).


The current nisab:

Gold: £2250

Silver: £231.44

(Correct as of 16th July 2014, checked on,)


Your zakat begins on the date that your wealth was first equal to the nisab and you should calculate it every year on that date.

Zakat is not paid on fluctuating amounts during the year but is paid upon having at least the threshold amount on the date zakat is due.


What kind of wealth is Zakat payable on?

Generally, it is acquired material assets that zakat is payable on and not services.

However, the Prophet (pbuh) did not oblige zakat on assets which are for personal use. Therefore, a person's home, car or personal property such as clothes and shoes are not subject to zakat.

According to the majority of jurists, modern day forms of cash follow the same legal rulings as gold and silver so therefore cash is subject to zakat.


So what exactly is subject to zakat?


·         Crops and fruits; especially basic foods such as wheat, barley, dates, and raisins.

·         Treasures hidden underground by people and minerals stored inside the surface of the earth.

·         Livestock such as camels, cows, and sheep

·         Gold or silver; whether as coins or in the form of cash, business assets or savings.

Other types of wealth:

•                    Gold and silver, including ornaments or jewellery containing gold and/or silver

•                    Cash held at home or in bank accounts

•                    Stocks and shares owned directly or through investment funds

•                    Money lent to others

•                    Business stock in trade and merchandise

•                    Agricultural produce

•                    Livestock animals such as cows, buffaloes, goats, sheep and camels

•                    Produce of mines

•                    Pensions

•                    Property owned for investment purposes

•                    Business Merchendise


Who receives Zakat?

Allah explains to us in the Quran (9:60) that there are eight categories of people to whom zakat can be given:

1.       The poor

2.       The needy

3.       Those working in Zakah administration

4.       New Muslims who face financial hardship after accepting Islam

5.       To free slaves

6.       Those who are in debt but unable to settle it by themselves

7.       Those struggling in the path of Allah

8.       The wayfarer (traveller) who has run out of money and would have no way of reaching his/her destination without financial help